Accounts, types and roles

There are a couple of account types that can be created in ReadyCMS. As a content management system that can distribute data to multiple channels user accounts play an important role.

Essentially there are two main differences in the types of the account: 

- Client Accounts that can access the ReadyCMS domain panel for their organization, essentially managing staff
- User Accounts that do not have any access to the ReadyCMS domain panel but are registered in the system for their role as website users or other

Account roles

Each account can be set with predefined permissions or user roles. User role grants or revokes user's permissions to perform a group of tasks. User roles are commonly defined by a logical structure within an organization, meaning that one organization can have administrators, editors, moderators, creators, etc.

Account roles for the ReadyCMS domain are:

  • Administrator
    The highest level of access. Administrators are often users who are allowed to change important settings, add users, and have access to every part of the ReadyCMS system, including billing and eCommerce. 
  • Manager
    Users with permission to change add, edit, delete all content within the system. They can also manage users.
  • Editor
    Users with permission to change add, edit, delete all content within the system but they can not manage users.
  • Author
    Users that can only manage the content they are an author of. They can also publish the content.
  • Contributor
    Users with permission to manage only their own content but they can not publish it.
  • Moderator
    Can only manage comments and reviews.
  • Member
    Users without permission to add, edit, or delete any content. They can only preview it.

Account roles for user accounts are:

  • Wholesale buyer
    Users marked as B2B users. 
  • Subscriber
    Users marked as subscribers.
  • Buyer
    Regular users that purchased or signed up on the eCommerce website.
  • User
    Regular users.

Permissions

Additionally, each administrator can specify each permission for the users accordingly to what tasks users can perform and what features users can access.

Permissions are split by action groups: View, Create, Edit, and Delete.

Each user can have their permissions defined by these action groups and per content or data type (e.g., you can set a custom financial role for a user that can only view financial reports but will not be able to manage anything else on the website).

Tip:
It's always beneficial give each user specific roles. This way you can maximize operational efficiency, reduce administrative work and the risk of mistakes that can be made.

Learn how to change permissions for each user.



Related topics:

Search

Topics

Help us improve our documentation

Suggest changes or request new documentation

Suggest changes